First week (second weigh in) 11.03.17

Today was my second weigh in, or rather my first if you discount the initial one last week.

I’d tracked my food, counted my syns and still as I walked to the group session I felt panicked. I had to stop half way there, my breathing was labored – I couldn’t catch my breath and the edges of my vision went grey. The hell? I thought to myself as I leant against a handy bus stop. After breathing through my nose and managing to fill my lungs that way and a rather stern talking to (internally – don’t want people to think I’m mad as a box of frogs) I set off again.

As I got nearer to where the group meets I joined the people walking towards the 8:30am session and chatted to people. This made me feel better and breathing was better – so, armed with my leeks for the slimmer of the week basket (What? I like leeks!)  I headed in.

I was slightly early at 8:20 but after a couple of minutes and popping their head in from where they were inducting a new member the consultant let us start getting weighed in early. I was pleased to see the woman who started last week with me giving me a wave across the room and chatted to a couple of people in the line as we waited to get weighed.

I forgot to mention last time that slimmers world has gone digital with a membership card that contains all your details on it. Mine now says I have 10 sessions left, ten sessions to decide if I can afford to continue :-/ However, I’m not worrying about that yet.

You’re probably all wondering by now how I did on my weigh in? Well I’m pleased to say that I had lost 7lb (just over 3kg in new money). I was/am pleased but I’m not getting over excited because I know my weight goes up and down like a yoyo.

Had a wonder into the book section and bought myself a couple of the SW cook books ‘Family feasts on a budget‘ and ‘free & easy‘. I just need some inspiration to flick through when I’m meal planning (yes I’m aware I can get them online but it’s not the same!) Pleasantly surprised that both books came to under £10! I’ve added links to buy them from amazon but they’re not as cheap online as at your local club. So, at this point I realised that  I hadn’t gotten any raffle tickets (see last weeks post) turns out I’d misunderstood last week – you actually have to buy the raffle tickets. Ah well, I can’t really afford to be buying raffle tickets on top of everything else!

The meeting afterwards was nice, I can see how some people would not like it – it can be a little ‘give everyone a  round of applause’ but I like it and find it encouraging and leaves me enthused for the coming week. I also got my first certificate! 1/2 stone! The lady who joined last week also did really well and lost 1/2 a stone – however neither of us won slimmer of the week *boo* what can I say, those leeks did look tasty 😀

I also heard from across the room someone saying about ‘club 10’ – turns out this is when you lose 10% of your body weight. I have 27lb before I can join that particular club. Ah well.

My fave recipes from this week are as follows (please note if they won’t load up it may be because you have to log on):

Tangy grilled chicken Dijon style – Loved this, so simple and easy! red wine vinegar, Dijon mustard, chicken. Wham together, grill in the oven. I had it with some pasta and some cold for lunch the next day. May add less red wine vinegar next time as it was a bit runny and I want more of a paste. The taste wasn’t as strong as I thought it would be which is nice as both red wine vinegar and dijon mustard are quite strong usually!

Adrakhwala chops (spiced pork chops) – I have to admit I left it to my partner to cook this. They and I agree that next time we’d not add the water and possibly grill rather than stew in the casserole dish to intensify the flavour. My partner also fried some shallots in frylite and made a carrot and cumin crush (like mash but no butter/milk etc) to go with it. I love pork chops so couldn’t really complain.

This week I have synned heavily on some days…there were roast potatoes on the Sunday, a rather nice cookie on Thursday and…a delicious cheeseburger on Friday. However, I never spent all of my 25 syns so I haven’t been that bad.  One of the things I did struggle with this week was snacking and lack of sweet things. So I bought some of the hi-fi lite bars (Salted caramel pack and also a rocky road pack) They came to £3.90 for two boxes of 6 at group and are 3 syns each or you can have 2 as a healthy extra B. I would have added amazon links again but they’re retailing for about £10 a box on there and to be frank that’s ridiculous!

This week I’ve got meals planned, my partner is away for part of the week so I’m cooking for myself. Good practice for when they’re away at sea I suppose.

Well, until next time!

 

Leave a Reply

