7.11.14

I am still here in case you were wondering 🙂

I’ve not really been up to too much to write about I’ve just been working through the task ahead of me, mainly trying to get my students into shape. it’s tough going. have you ever had a class that’s had a brilliant teacher…only to then end up with you? I’m not saying I’m a terrible teacher but the kids seem to think the faster they get rid of me, the sooner they will get the other teacher back and that is not going to happen.

At the end of the one lesson I have with them I was almost in tears. We have a new head of department and I’ve basically said to her ‘Listen I will happily go down to a half day on a Monday if you take this group off me!”  I’m not sure what agreement we came to, I think we have a new teacher starting in January and she will try to give them to that teacher instead of me having them…so I just need to grit my teeth and hold on.

This week I’ve been off for two days ill, not good as this means I’ve lost two days wages which sucks in a big way. Next week’s payslip will not be huge. *sigh*

There are a couple of things I plan to do whilst I am home ill, firstly I am writing a novel for national Novel writing month. We try to write a 50,000 word novel in November. I’m on 11k so far and rising.  Secondly I must try to book practical sessions for the next couple of weeks for my classes. I may do that this afternoon after lunch. I can hopefully email the technician so I can do some practicals with my students next week.

The school have been pretty understanding about me being ill, they’re pleased that I’ve set cover work which I think they didn’t expect. In my mind unless I’m so sick I can’t sit at my computer I should be able to set cover work. It makes everyone’s lives easier. Whether or not the cover work gets done remains to be seen of course.

If I reach my word target, get my practicals in and mark the test papers I have waiting and feel up to it I may pop to the post office and post some packets. If I don’t feel up to it I may scoot about online earning pennies for stuff to add to my masters fund.

I hope you all have a lovely day wherever you are.

Leave a Reply

